Daily Archives: July 8, 2012

Overwhelming…

There’s a lot I’m allergic too, even if the list really only boils down to a few things.  The problem is, it’s ‘a few thing’ that show up in everything.  I’m going a little nuts, the decontamination starts tomorrow morning and every time I think about it, I want to cry.  I can’t cook with my usual seasonings, I can’t even use the dry seasonings I’m used to that I’m not allergic to because of the additives and creation process makes it so there are things I am allergic to in them.  It’s frustrating, I know I will be fine in a few days, it’s just a lot to think about and I keep finding myself weepy and a little scared.   Anyway, I’m going to use this little post here to make a list… all in one place of the stuff I need to watch out for.  Ugh… here goes nothing.

  • Bananas
  • Latex (this goes with bananas for some reason)
  • Whey (soft cheeses)
  • Milk (exception: un-pasteurized, non-fortified milk on occasion)
  • No mold or bacteria ripened cheese or ‘cheese food’
  • Mushrooms
  • Truffles
  • Bakers and Brewers Yeast
  • Vinegar
  • Root Vegetables
  • Grains
  • High Sugar Fruits
  • Fruits
  • Leftovers over 24 hours old that are not frozen
  • Grapes
  • Melons
  • Processed foods (hot dogs, processed meats, sausages)
  • Canned or Frozen citrus juice
  • Fermented foods
  • Alcoholic beverages
  • Breads
  • Fortified foods
  • Salad Dressings
  • Smoked foods
  • Bacon (CRY!!!!)
  • Condiments
  • Vitamins
  • Citric Acid (which is in EVERYTHING!)
  • Colas and rootbeers
  • ‘Seasonings’
  • Imitation Crab Meat
  • Cranberry
  • Peanuts
  • Soybeans
  • guar gum (also in everything!)
  • gum arabic
  • bulking agent
  • emulsifier
  • hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • miso
  • MSG
  • pasta
  • lac resins
  • sesame seeds (tahini)
  • Almonds
  • Pecans
  • Egg (white and yolk, chicken, duck and quail)
  • Yogurt
  • Wine

Things I CAN have to season stuff, fresh or frozen NOT dried:

  • Parsley
  • Cilantro
  • Dill
  • Celery Seed
  • Lemon Grass
  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Sage
  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Mint

So there it is… my reference list.  Wish me luck.